Tuition and Fees
Fees and Payments
The State Board of Community Colleges establishes tuition annually; and the Wake Technical Community College Board of Trustees establishes special fees associated with some classes. Tuition and fees are listed below and are subject to change without notice.
All tuition and fees are due by the published payment due dates. Students may pay:
BY WEB at webadvisor.waketech.edu. WebAdvisor may be unavailable for weekly scheduled maintenance beginning Thursdays at 8 p.m. through Fridays at 8 a.m.
BY DROP BOX located in front of the Cashier's Office at the Wake Tech Southern Wake (Main) Campus, Montague Hall, 9101 Fayetteville Road, Raleigh, NC 27603
BY MAIL to the Cashier's Office, Wake Technical Community College, 9101 Fayetteville Road, Raleigh, NC 27603
IN PERSON at the Cashier's Office on Southern Wake (Main) Campus, Perry Health Sciences Campus, Northern Wake Campus, or Western Wake Campus
Payments may be made using personal check, debit card, credit card (MasterCard or Visa) or cash. If you choose to pay by personal check, it is suggested that each student bring two checks to registration: one for registration and one for the purchase of books and supplies. Textbooks are purchased by students as needed. Costs of textbooks vary, depending upon the curriculum in which the student is enrolled.
All rates are subject to change by action of the North Carolina Legislature (tuition) and the Wake Technical Community College Board of Trustees (fees).
Note: Tuition may be increased.
(Effective January 1, 2016 and subject to change)
In-State (North Carolina) Students
16 credit hours or more: $1216.00 /term
Less than 16 credit hours: $ 76.00 /credit hour
16 credit hours or more: $4,288.00/term
Less than 16 credit hours: $268.00/credit hour
Fees are established by the Wake Tech Board of Trustees and are subject to change without notice.
Wake Technical Community College does not charge application fees, with the exception of a $40.00 application fee for International Students.
Student Activity Fee
$35.00 per semester (applies to fall, spring, and summer semesters)
Campus Access Fee
Charged per semester during registration at Main, Perry Health Sciences, Western Wake, Northern Wake, and Public Safety Education campuses:
- Curriculum Education
$85.00 per term during fall and spring semesters
$25.00 per term for summer term
- Workforce Continuing Education
$5.00 per class or 10% of the cost of the course, whichever is greater (not applicable to fee-waived students; courses at community schools and other off-site locations; and completely online courses)
Computer Use/Technology Fee
$3.00 per credit hour per term ($48.00 per semester maximum)
Lost Gate Card Fee
$5.00 per card
Lost ID Card Fee
$5.00 per card
Professional Liability Insurance
$6.00 per term for Health Sciences Students
$6.00 per term for Cosmetology and Esthetics Students
Official Transcript Fee
$5.00 for each transcript per request
$240 per course for MUS 161, MUS 162, MUS 261, MUS 262
Supply fees ranging from $5.00 to $100.00 may be associated with certain courses. Fees will be noted in the course notes in the schedule of classes.
Placement Test Score Report
$5.00 per report
ACCUPLACER and COMPASS Re-Test Fee
$10.00 per re-test
Facility Fee - Community Schools
A facility fee of $25 per class will be charged to students attending classes at community schools locations. Fees will be collected by Wake Technical Community College at time of registration. Community schools fees are established by the Wake County Public School System and are subject to change without notice.
Facility Fee - Ice Skating, Bowling and Golf
Facility fees are charged to students registering for the following classes:
PED 177: $85.00
PED 139: $80.00
PED 128: $40.00
Facility Fee - State Learning and Development Center
A lab facility fee of $25.00 - $65.00 per course is charged to students attending classes at the State Personnel Development Center (101 W. Peace Street, Raleigh, NC).
Registration and tuition charges for audited courses are the same as for courses taken for credit. Audited classes earn neither credit hour nor quality points. Requests to audit must be submitted to the Office of the Registrar by the last day to add classes.
Self-Supporting Registration Fees
The fee for self-supporting classes, denoted by an "S" at the end of the section number, is $83.00 per credit hour. There are no rate differences for in-state and out-of-state students and no waivers for senior citizens, dual enrollment students, staff, etc. No maximum cost, based on maximum number of credit hours, applies to self-supporting classes; for example, if you registered for 16 credit hours as an in-state student at the regular tuition rate, the tuition due would be $1152.00. If you added a three-credit-hour class at the self-supporting rate, your tuition would be $1152.00 plus $249.00 for the self-supporting registration fee.
Returned Checks and Unpaid Accounts
Any student who has a returned check will be notified by certified letter. If the returned check is not cleared within the specified time, all academic records will be frozen until the account is cleared. Students who develop a pattern of payment by returned checks will have this payment option revoked. Once identified, these individuals will be required to pay by cash, money order, certified check or credit card. Our bank is authorized to present NSF checks for payment a second time, which may result in additional fees being assessed.
Unpaid student accounts, including returned checks and unpaid parking tickets, will prevent graduation, granting of credit, and release of transcript.
Senior Citizen Tuition Waiver
Effective July 1, 2013, senior citizens age 65 and older are required to pay for tuition and fees for all community college classes.
Refunds are processed under the North Carolina Community College System (state) refund policy.
Tuition refunds are automatically processed based on deadlines and drop dates and Sent to BankMobile for processing. You will get a green BankMobile envelope in the mail. When you receive the envelope, sign onto BankMobile and make your refund preference selection. When funds are disbursed, the refund issued will be based on the refund preference selected.
In order to receive your refund from BankMobile you will need to select your refund preference. If you do not select your refund preference your funds will not be sent to you.
Refunds are issued only after the 10% date in the semester. This date is published as the drop deadline in class schedules and registration information each semester. Refunds are issued via BankMobile within four (4) weeks after the 10-percent date.
Tuition is charged on a per-credit-hour basis up to a maximum of 16 credit hours per term. There is no additional tuition charge for registration in excess of maximum credit hours. Students will be eligible for refunds when course drops result in enrollment for less than maximum credit hours and meet the applicable conditions described below.
For regular-schedule classes that begin the first week (seven calendar days) of the semester:
- A 100% refund will be given if the student drops the class prior to the first day of the academic semester as published on the official college calendar.
- A 75% refund will be given if the student drops the class on or after the first day of the semester and prior to or on the official 10% point of the semester, as published in the College calendar.
For classes that begin at times other than the first week (seven calendar days) of the term:
- A 100% refund will be given if the student drops the class prior to the first class meeting.
- A 75% refund will be given if the student drops the class prior to or on the 10% point of the class.
- To comply with applicable federal regulations regarding refunds, federal regulations supersede the state refund regulations stated in this rule.
For classes for which the college collects receipts that are not required to be deposited into the State Treasury account, the college will adopt local refund policies.
A 100% refund will be given if the class in which the student is officially registered is cancelled by the college.
Upon request, the college will grant a full refund of tuition and fees to military reserve and National Guard personnel called to active duty, or active duty personnel with assignments outside North Carolina that make it impossible for them to complete course requirements.
Registration Fee-Self-Supporting Classes
Registration fees for self-supporting classes are charged separately from (in addition to) tuition; therefore, refunds for these classes are also calculated separately. Otherwise, the above policies and deadlines also apply to self-supporting classes.
To be eligible for a refund, a student must officially drop the class, using WebAdvisor.
When a student withdraws entirely and the tuition refund is approved by the college as set forth above, student activity, community schools, and graduation fees will be refunded in total.
Death of a Student
In the event of a student's death, all tuition and fees paid for that term may be refunded to the estate of the deceased.
Books will be accepted for full refund when the student withdraws from the college or drops a class on or before the 10% point in the semester, provided the books have not been marked in or otherwise defaced. Students must present requests for book refunds (with sales receipts) by the 10% point in the semester to the bookstore manager, who is authorized to accept or reject the request for refund. Website: http://waketech.bncollege.com.