Celebrating Excellence in English

RALEIGH, N.C. (October 10, 2023) – Thirty Wake Tech students are the newest members of Sigma Kappa Delta, the national honor society for English and literature excellence at two-year colleges.

An induction ceremony was held Monday at Scott Northern Wake Campus. Founded in 1996, Sigma Kappa Delta has more than 140 active chapters in the United States, with approximately 2,500 members inducted annually. Wake Tech started its Sigma Kappa Delta chapter a year ago.

In addition to the induction, the ceremony featured remarks from several student members and the installation of new officers.

"Sigma Kappa Delta gave me the confidence to take on new opportunities I would never have experienced," said Ashley Seung, president. "You all have motivated me to surpass my own goals with confidence and determination. This community encouraged me to take bigger chances. In just over a year, I've moved from the audience seat to the podium, and I know you guys can join me here, too."

Sigma Kappa Delta connects students who enjoy and have a passion for English and literature and offers them opportunities to participate in rewarding activities and be recognized for their accomplishments. Three student officers in Wake Tech's inaugural chapter attended the international conference for Sigma Tau Delta, Sigma Kappa Delta's parent organization, in Denver in April. There, they presented their scholarly and creative writing and networked with authors, students and faculty from chapters from across the U.S.

Criteria for membership include completion of a minimum of one English language or literature course, completion of 12 hours of college course work, a grade of B or higher in English and a minimum overall GPA of 3.0.

The following Wake Tech students were inducted:

  • Isaac G. Wood
  • Evelyn Opoku
  • Uzair Usman
  • Teairra Spence
  • Lakshith Vutukuri
  • Nathaly Yairim Garcia
  • Jessica Weber
  • Savannah Cade
  • Alisa Carpenter
  • Dominick Episale
  • Jaden Briley
  • Hannah Barnes
  • Jenna Rammouni
  • Caroline Briley
  • Lucy Rubi-Arriaga
  • Amber Quinn
  • Michael Guirgis
  • Autumn Fields
  • Natalie Fielding
  • Pedro Dal Coleto Pasquoto Lopes
  • Ashley Seung
  • Candice Pearson
  • Olivia Kerns
  • Faith Farrington
  • Jordan Adams
  • Jin Young Kim
  • Julia Gomez
  • Jackie Tshamanye
  • Michael Altman

Chapter officers for 2023-24 are Ashley Seung, president; Olivia Kerns, vice president; Natalie Fielding, technical liaison; Lucy Rubi-Arriaga, secretary; and Michael Guirgus, public relations chair.

Elena Fleggas and Mary Beth Wolverton, both associate professors of English, are co-advisors of the Wake Tech chapter. To learn more about Sigma Kappa Delta, email them at [email protected] or [email protected].

Wake Tech News Update logo
January 2024

Latest News from Wake Tech