Wake Tech News


College Celebrates Outstanding Student Leaders

RALEIGH, N.C. (April 26, 2024) – Wake Tech continued its celebration of Spirit Month on Thursday, honoring outstanding student leaders during the Student Leadership Ceremony and Reception at the Southern Wake Campus.

Multiple student leaders were honored for their contributions through Student Government Association, Student Ambassadors, Pathways Peer Mentors, Activate Good Service and Leadership Internships, and Student Applied Benchmarking. Five students were recognized as Wake Tech finalists for nominations to prestigious statewide community college system honors.

In addition, 34 students were honored with the Wake Tech Torch Award. The Torch Award recognizes students who best exemplify the qualities of service, engagement, academics and leadership. This includes community service involvement, campus club or organizational participation, outstanding achievement and campus or community leadership. The Wake Tech torch symbolizes the life-changing journey experienced by students who attend the college. It is a beacon of hope that students are guided to, leave behind and carry with them to light the way along their path for the rest of their lives.

"The Student Leadership and Torch Awards ceremony is always one of the highlights of our year in student life," said Brian Anweiler, dean of Student Activities and Athletics. "The students recognized during the ceremony are so special to the life of the college for their outstanding contributions academically, in service to the campus and creating a vibrant community enriching the student experience."

Each Torch Award recipient was presented with a certificate, an engraved pen set and a medallion, which they will wear at graduation, by Wake Tech President Dr. Scott Ralls and Vice President of Enrollment and Student Services Brian Gann.

Torch Awards

  • Joude Alsaj
  • Tyrin Aluoch
  • Alaric Ani
  • Nora Cam
  • Amos David Romero Castro
  • Celeste Cerrato
  • Marjorie Chanakira
  • Rafael Cruz-Ferman
  • William Guevara
  • Sarah Harvey
  • Carlos Alberto Lagunes
  • Diane Liao
  • Grace Linares
  • Justin Majano
  • Mayolo Martinez
  • Savannah Mason
  • Ashley McCray
  • Rachel Meier
  • Lazarus Moman
  • Hannah Nelson
  • Ian Ongwacho
  • Benedict Ontita
  • Jade Phan
  • Milos Radojkovic
  • Gregory Sachan
  • Zaina Shawarbeh
  • Oksana Shchur
  • Pamela Troublefield
  • Dilnura Turakulova
  • Catherine Weafer
  • Kenobie Woods
  • Nicolas Worsley
  • Michael Yunker
  • Dylan Zucker

Leaders in the following student groups and organizations were also recognized and received a commemorative certificate and pen set by their respective advisors.

Student Ambassadors

  • Xena Gabrielle Aguilos
  • Alaric Ani
  • Aisha Aribowo
  • Cheval Batts
  • Christie-Anna Best
  • Jaden Briley
  • Ramchandra Chawla
  • Roberto Cipriano
  • Sydney Davis
  • Teniel De Lucia
  • Asha Elliott
  • Sergey Fedorov
  • Arabelle Galang
  • Gustavo Garcia
  • Kaylah Jackson
  • Carlos Lagunes
  • Valentin Hernandez Martinez
  • Marie Mbayo
  • Victor Mendoza-Alonso
  • Kaitlyn Quinn
  • Naile Hansen Rothenberg

Student Government Association

  • William Guevara – President
  • Karolaine Reis – Vice President
  • Catherine Weafer – Secretary
  • Marjorie Chanakira – Treasurer
  • Cricket Wellum – Public Information Officer
  • Victor Abarca-Alvarado
  • Grace Abraham
  • Ismaaeel Ali
  • Andrew Brosnan
  • Sydney Davis
  • Syriah Houlder
  • Penny Johnson
  • Dennis Nometa
  • David Perez
  • Kevin Reza Villa
  • Isabella Smith
  • Gloria Sukidi
  • Luis Tapia
  • Laura Templeton

Pathways Peer Mentors

  • Keyrlos Demian
  • Lahinandro Koleane
  • Tadiwanashe Nsompa

Activate Good Service and Leadership Internships

  • Je’Niya Nelson
  • Isabella Smith

Eleven students were recognized for their outstanding Student Applied Benchmarking projects in which they designed solutions to problems with the help of college employees. The top three student proposals receive a scholarship, with the support of project sponsors Balfour Beatty and the Scott Family Foundation.

  • Elizabeth Baker
  • Shannon Benedetto
  • Alexis Buckelew
  • Devin Carhart
  • Carina D'Agata
  • Elizabeth Doering
  • Amarachi Ekwegh
  • Viktoriya Luchkevych
  • Simone Mason
  • Ashley McCray
  • Cale Rogoyski

D'Agata received a $1,000 scholarship from Balfour Beatty, Rogoyski received a $600 scholarship from the Scott Family Foundation and Doering and Carhart, whose projects tied for third place, each received a $400 scholarship from the Scott Family Foundation.

Five students were recognized as Wake Tech finalists for three North Carolina Community College System Awards.

The Academic Excellence Awards, instituted in 1998, and are designed to promote and celebrate scholarships among the students of the North Carolina Community College System. These awards represent the highest academic honor that our system can bestow upon its students.

The Dr. Dallas Herring Achievement Award, established in 2010, is a testament to the remarkable contributions of Herring to North Carolina's community colleges. This award is open to current students or alumni of any program at the college level, including curriculum, continuing education or literacy programs. It acknowledges outstanding achievement by these individuals, honoring their dedication and excellence.

The Gov. Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award was established in 2004 by the North Carolina Association of Community College Presidents. It serves a dual purpose, recognizing outstanding student leadership at a statewide level while paying tribute to the remarkable legacy of the former governor.

  • Bumi Oh – Academic Excellence Award Nominee
  • Grace Abraham - Dallas Herring Achievement Award Nominee
  • Tess Thomas - Dallas Herring Achievement Award Nominee
  • Laura Templeton - Dallas Herring Achievement Award Nominee
  • Kevin Reza Villa – Gov. Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award Nominee
Wake Tech News Update logo
April 2024

Latest News from Wake Tech