Community Awards

Corporate Benefactor of the Year Award is given annually and is based on financial assistance provided by the corporation (cash and in-kind), volunteer work contributed by corporation employees, and the interaction of the corporation with Wake Tech staff, faculty, and students. The Executive Director of the Wake Tech Foundation makes the selection.

Individual Spirit of Giving Award is given on the basis of financial support provided to the Foundation and volunteer support for programs and services of the college, including assistance to students, faculty, and staff. Service may be provided through an Advisory Council or board, as a visiting lecturer, or in other ways benefiting the college. The Executive Director of the Wake Tech Foundation makes the selection.

Distinguished Alumni Award is given annually to an alumni whose Wake Tech studies led to a specific career and who has made a major contribution to the college, to their work, or to the larger community. The Executive Director of the Foundation and the President of Wake Tech select the Distinguished Alumni.

Volunteer of the Year Award is given each year to the individual or group who has given the most hours in service to Wake Tech, its faculty, staff, or students. Nominations are collected through the Foundation website, and the Executive Director makes the selection.


Corporate Benefactor
of the Year
Individual Spirit
of Giving
Volunteer of
the Year

2019: SunTrust Foundation
2018: UNC Rex Healthcare
2017: Martin Marietta
2016: Duke Energy
2015: ABB
2014: Lenovo
2013: Wells Fargo
2012: SAS Institute Inc.
2011: GlaxoSmithKline
2010: Wake Med

2019: Dr. Carl Price
2018: Harvey Montague
2017: Cary-Kildaire
          Rotary Club

2016: Julian and Liz 
           Clay Bradley
2015: Mike Desmond
2014: Jim W. Perry
2013: Barbara Bays
2012: Martha Smith
2011: Robert Jones
2010: Jim Holmes

2019: Heather Hockenberry
2018: John Boon
2017: Jacqueline Adcock
2016: Janet Grogg
2015: Paul Gessner
2014: Aaron Stumb
2013: Bryan Thornton
2012: Lesa McCabe
2011: Pat Bazemore
2010: Rachel Selisker

2019: Dr. Howard Ellis
2018: Carol Gagor
2017: Mike Petersen
2016: Charles Durham,

2015: Dorothy McKelvie
2014: Linda Daigle
2013: Uliana Dobre
2012: Harvey Montague
2011: John McKinney
2010: Kelly Musico

To nominate an individual or organization for a Community Excellence Award, please contact Stephanie Lake ([email protected], 919-866-5927) and include the name and contact information of the nominee, and the award for which they are nominated.